Wednesday, December 10, 2008

west indies cricket tour of newzealand

west indies cricket tour of Newzealand

Daniel Flynn was making serene progress towards a maiden Test century as NewZealand reached 180 for three at tea on day one of the first Test against the West Indies in Dunedin.

Debutant opener Tim McIntosh certainly found out why it takes a lot of character to make the step up to Test match cricket. After 45 minutes and 38 deliveries he was still to score his first run in Test cricket. The West Indies bowled with admirable control with Daren Powell claiming the first wicket of the match while McIntosh continued to survive his torture by fast bowler.

Despite displaying a huge amount of patience, he eventually chased a wide one and was lucky to see the ball fly through the fingers of gully to the boundary for four.

After Jamie How was caught by Shivnarine Chanderpaul off of Powell, McIntosh and Flynn put on 87 runs for the second wicket, surviving until after lunch when McIntosh was caught by Lionel Baker off of Chris Gayle for 34.

His innings lasted 110 deliveries and he eventually found his feet to hit five fours.

West Indies struck again soon afterwards to remove the dangerous Ross Taylor for 15 when he was caught by Xavier Marshall for Gayle's second wicket.

However, they could do little about Flynn, who cruised past his previous Test-best score of 49 on his way to a maiden half-century as he relished his promotion to number three in the batting order, reaching tea on 92 not out from 183 balls with 12 fours.

Jesse Ryder was alongside him on 22 from 47 deliveries.

Australian-born Brendan Nash became the first white player to play for the West Indies in Tests for over 35 years. Baker also makes his debut for the tourists.

NewZealand all-rounder Jacob Oram failed a late fitness test and was replaced by Kyle Mills.

New Zealand: Jamie How, Todd McIntosh, Daniel Flynn, Ross Taylor, Jesse Ryder, Brendon McCullum, Daniel Vettori (captain), James Franklin, Kyle Mills, Mark Gillespie, Iain O'Brien

West Indies: Chris Gayle (captain), Sewnarine Chattergoon, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Xavier Marshall, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Brendan Nash, Denesh Ramdin, Lionel Baker, Jerome Taylor, Fidel Edwards, Daren Powell

No comments: